Transportation Statistics: Home

Resources

Bureau of Transportation Statistics

U.S. Department of Transportation, Research and Innovative Technology Administration

Comprehensive coverage of all modes of transportation data, provides statistical analysis and abstracts.

Journey to Work and Place of Work

U.S. Census Bureau

Includes data on Means of Transportation to Work, Travel Time to Work, Time Leaving Home to Go to Work, Private Vehicle Occupancy, and Travel to Work Characteristics.

Measurement of Government Transportation Financial Statistics

U.S. Department of Transportation, Bureau of Transportation Statistics

Consists of transportation revenues and expenditures for federal, state and local governments. Contains data by revenue source, expenditure type, and mode.

National Transportation Atlas Database

U.S. Department of Transportation, Bureau of Transportation Statistics

Set of nationwide geographic databases of transportation facilities, networks, and associated infrastructure.  These datasets include spatial information for modal networks and intermodal terminals.  Metadata documentation, as prescribed by the Federal Geographic Data Committee, is provided for each database.

National Transportation Safety Board  

National Transportation Safety Board

The NTSB is an independent federal agency charged by Congress with investigating every civil aviation accident in the U.S. and significant accidents in other modes of transportation-railroad, highway, marine and pipeline.

National Transportation Statistics

U.S. Department of Transportation, Bureau of Transportation Statistics

Statistics on the U.S. transportation system, including its physical components, safety record, economic performance, the human and natural environment, and national security. More than 260 data tables plus data source and accuracy statements. Internet edition is updated quarterly. 

State Transportation Statistics

U.S. Department of Transportation Bureau of Transportation Statistics

State Transportation Statistics (STS) are a series of reports highlighting major federal databases and other national sources related to each state's infrastructure, safety, freight movement and passenger travel, vehicles, economy and finance, and energy and the environment. Along with tables generated for each state, the reports describe databases and give information on access, formats, and contact points.

Transportation Statistics Annual Report

U.S. Department of Transportation, Bureau of Transportation Statistics

Presents data and information about the performance and impacts of the U.S. transportation system. Topics include traffic flows for all modes; travel times and measures of congestion; transportation costs; availability and use of mass transit; consequences of transportation for the environment; and the extent, connectivity and condition of the transportation system

TranStats  

U.S. Department of Transportation, Bureau of Transportation Statistics

Provides comprehensive datasets by agency, mode, and subject

Federal Aviation Administration Data & Research  

Federal Aviation Administration

Provides data on accidents and incidents, safety, passengers, cargo, commercial space, funding, and aviation forecasts.

Census Transportation Planning Products (CTPP)

U.S. Federal Highway Administration

A set of special tabulations from decennial census demographic surveys, designed for transportation planners. Utilizing large sample size, it provides reliable and accurate data.

Journey to Work and Place of Work

U.S. Census Bureau

Includes data on Means of Transportation to Work, Travel Time to Work, Time Leaving Home to Go to Work, Private Vehicle Occupancy, and Travel to Work Characteristics.

National Household Travel Survey

U.S. Department of Transportation, Federal Highway Administration                    

 National data on the travel behavior of the American public. Allows for analysis of daily travel by all modes, characteristics of the people traveling, their household, and their vehicles. The 2009 NHTS updates information gathered in the 2001 NHTS and in prior Nationwide Personal Transportation Surveys.          

Annual Energy Review

U.S. Department of Energy, Energy Information Administration

Reports annual energy statistics, beginning with 1949. Includes data on total energy production, consumption, and trade; overviews of petroleum, natural gas, coal, electricity, nuclear energy, renewable energy, international energy, as well as financial and environmental indicators.

CAFE - Fuel Economy

U.S. Department of Transportation, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

Includes links to reports on fuel economy performance of vehicle fleet.

Data.gov

U.S. General Services Corporation

Site of U.S. government’s Open Data portal. Comprehensive coverage of over 20 topics including Climate, Geospatial, Public Safety, and over 90,600 datasets. Federal, state and local data, resources, and tools.

Monthly Energy Review

U.S. Department of Energy, Energy Information Administration

Includes total energy production, consumption, and trade; energy prices; overviews of petroleum, natural gas, coal, electricity, nuclear energy, renewable energy, and international petroleum; carbon dioxide emissions; and data unit conversions values.

Statistical Abstract of the United States

U.S. Census Bureau

Description: Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States and a guide to sources of other data from the Census Bureau, other Federal agencies, and private organizations.

Transportation Energy Data Book

 U.S. Department of Energy, Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy

Statistics and information that characterize transportation activity with data on factors that influence transportation energy use. Chapters focus on petroleum, energy, highway vehicles, light vehicles, heavy vehicles, alternative fuel vehicles, fleet vehicles, household vehicles, non highway modes, transportation and the economy, greenhouse gas emissions, and criteria pollutant emissions.

Commodity Flow Survey

U.S. Department of Transportation, Bureau of Transportation Statistics

Primary source of national and state-level data on domestic freight shipments by American establishments in mining, manufacturing, wholesale, auxiliaries, and selected retail industries. Data are provided on the types, origins and destinations, values, weights, modes of transport, distance shipped, and ton-miles of commodities shipped.

Data Sources Related to Freight Transportation

U.S. Department of Transportation, Federal Highway Administration

Includes links to information on highway, maritime, rail, and pipeline modes, product information, and road classification.

Freight Analysis Framework

U.S. Department of Transportation, Federal Highway Administration

 Integrates data from a variety of sources to create a comprehensive picture of freight movement among states and major metropolitan areas.  Provides estimates for tonnage and value, by commodity type, mode, origin, and destination. 

Congestion Data for Your City

Texas Transportation Institute

Provides basic statistics and ranking for urban areas in categories of: travel delay, excess fuel consumed, truck congestion cost, and total congestion cost with comparisons back to 1982. Detailed information is provided on spreadsheets for 101 cities.

Estimating Information: Average Low Bid Unit Price

Texas Department of Transportation

Includes average low unit bid prices for highway construction and maintenance projects statewide and by district.

Fatality Analysis Reporting System

National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

Provides annual data regarding fatal injuries in motor vehicle traffic accidents; allows user to run customized queries.

Highway Safety Information System

U.S. Department of Transportation, Federal Highway Administration, Turner Fairbank Highway Research Center

A multistate database that contains crash, roadway inventory, and traffic volume data for a select group of states. Participating States were selected based on the quality and quantity of data available, and ability to merge data from various files.

Highway Statistics

U.S. Department of Transportation, Federal Highway Administration

Provides analyzed statistical data on motor fuel; motor vehicles; driver licensing; highway-user taxation; state and local government highway finance; highway mileage, and federal aid for highways. Presented in tabular format and charts. Site includes a historical archive back to 1945.

Life Cycle Benefit-Cost Analysis Model

California Department of Transportation

Life-cycle benefit/cost analysis for proposed projects performed using Cal-B/C, a PC-based spreadsheet model. Can analyze many types of state highway and public transit construction and operational improvement projects.

Motor Vehicle Accidents and Fatalities

U.S. Census Bureau

Data from US Census Bureau on Transportation motor vehicle accidents & fatalities from 

National Automotive Sampling System

U.S. Department of Transportation, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

Composed of two systems - the Crashworthiness Data System (CDS) and the General Estimates System (GES) - and based on cases selected from a sample of police crash reports. Provides data on passenger vehicle crashes to identify potential improvements in vehicle design. GES data focus on the overall crash picture and trends.

National Bridge Inventory Database

U.S. Department of Transportation, Federal Highway Administration

Provides data tables from National Bridge Inventory identifying bridges by new construction and rehabilitation, state and county, condition, deficiencies, deck type, year of construction and other factors.

Urban Mobility Information

Texas A&M Transportation Institute

Provides mobility and congestion data on freeways and major streets for 100 urban areas. Includes annual Urban Mobility Report and Congested Corridors Report along with summary data tables and description of methodologies.

Boating Safety Resource Center

U.S. Coast Guard

Provides statistics on all reported recreational boating safety accidents and incidents throughout the United States and its territories.

IHS Fairplay Bespoke Maritime Data Services

IHS

Databases cover ship movements, ship characteristics, ownership, maritime companies, ports and terminals. Includes news archive and image bank.

Waterborne Commerce Statistics Center

U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Navigation Data Center                                                                                                        

Includes internal U.S. waterway monthly tonnage, container traffic for U.S. ports and all 50 states and U.S. territories; waterborne commerce of the U.S. waterways and harbors

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration - Data, Analysis and Statistics

U.S. Department of Transportation, Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration

Provides access to safety ratings and crash statistics for commercial trucks and buses in tables, reports.

Federal Railroad Administration Office of Safety Analysis

Federal Railroad Administration

Provides data files on railroad safety information including accidents and incidents, inspection and highway-rail crossing data. 

National Transit Database                                                                                           

U.S. Department of Transportation, Federal Transit Administration 

Information and statistics on more than 660 transit systems in the United States. The types of data reported include operational characteristics, services characteristics, capital revenues and assets, and financial operating statistics.                                                  

Loading